Rural Health Awards  

Each year the Rural Health Association of Tennessee recognizes individuals and groups of individuals from across the state of Tennessee who have dedicated themselves to the service of others within the field of rural healthcare. 

2024 Nominations are now open! Deadline to submit nominations is August 1, 2024.

View description of award categories
Download nomination form

Past Award Recipients

Award of Merit

2023 Leslie Brasfield & Michael Meit 2022 Jered Croom and Samuel LaFave 
2021 The Office of Health Disparities Elimination  2017 Byron Harbolt, M.D
2016 Cheryl Wooten 2015 Karen & Steve Wickham
2014 Bonnie Crews 2013 Reverend Sheldon Livesay and
the 'Of One Accord Ministry'
2012 East TN State University's Rural Inter
professional Rural Community Assessment
and Project Courses
2011 Sara Smith, TN Department of Education

Al Grant Award

2023 Dr. David Reagan 2022 Dr. Barbara Levin
2018 Dr. Sajeesh Kumar  2016 Dennis Wolford
2015 Pete DeBusk  



Bill Moats Meritorious Service Award 

2023 Wilma Jean Pippenger 2022 Deborah Chumley and Alicia Metcalf
2021 Dr. Angie Dotson 2019 Bill Dobbins
2018 Mary Vance 2017 Bill Moats

Collaboration Award

2023 Chrystal Taylor & Dr. Simpfronia Taylor
2022 Premier Primary Care, UTHSC College of Nursing, Alcoa City Schools and TCAT Knoxville 2021 Dr. Claude Pirtle; Trousdale County Health Council
2018 TN State Office of Rural Health Team 2017 Kathy Ann Watson, BSN, RN 2016 TN's CSH Initiative, TN Department of Education
2015 South Cumberland Health Network  2014 Obion County Hometown Walk of Hope/Obion
County Cancer Agency in Union City


Connie Givens School Health Award

2023 Lori Paisley 

Eloise Q. Hatmaker Distinguished Service Award

2023 Ann Cranford

2022 Tennessee Center for Health Workforce Development
2021 Ruby Kirby 2019 Carolyn Sliger
2018 Angie Allen  2015 Mary Vance
2013 Cindy Siler  

Exemplary Project Award

2023 Dr. Sherry Jimenez & SARRT

2022 Volunteer Behavioral Health Systems Co-Responder Program

2021 Tennessee Health Care Campaign; Buffalo Valley and McNabb Center

2019 The Kenley Project, LMU-DCOM
2018 Maury Regional Medical Center &
Lewis Health Center
2017 Dolly Parton/Dollywood Feed my People Fund
2014 Tennessee Emergency Medical
Services for Children
2013 Mary Jane Dewey, Thoris Campbell,
Ciara Gordon for "Ask Me", "Teal for Two" and "Manicure for the Cure"
2012 Southwest Area Agency on Aging
and Disability: Connected Transitions &
Trousdale County Health Council- Teen Time:
Tools & Ties/Petals & Pearls & Jefferson County Health Council's SEED Project
 2011 Tasty Tuesday 


Practitioner of the Year Award

2022 Amy Smith, PA  2021 Dr. Dee Blakney
2018 Dr. Jose Velasco 2017 Robert H. Lee, M.D.
2016 Dr. Charles Alderson 2015 Dr. Jim Shine
2014 Sullivan Smith MD 2013 Hanna Ilia, MD
2012 Dr. P. William Dysinger  


Rural Health Hero Award

2023 MAT Program 2022 Dr. Lawrence Jackson
2017 Heather & Sonny Melton 2012 Cindy Johnson
 2011 Jesse King  


Rural Health Professional of the Year

2023 David Dill 2022 Dr. Jana Dreyzehner
2021 Dr. Richard Wallace 2019 Joe Florence, MD
2017 Mark Dalle-Ave, MD 2015 Tonya Garner
2012 Gerald Bowker 2011 Shelia Garvin Bates



Rural Legislator of the Year Award   

2023 State Representative Clay Doggett

2022 State Senator London Lamar and Congressman Mark Green
2019 State Senator Becky Massey 2018 State Senator Bo Watson
2017 State Senator Ken Yager 2016 State Representative Matthew Hill
2015 State Representative Steve McDaniel 2014 State Senator Doub Overby
2013 State Representative Kelly Keisling  2012 State Representative Mike Harrison


Advocate of the Year 

2023 Chrissy Hood 


President’s Award

2023 Allie Haynes & Anna Hurt 2021 Elaine Jackson
2020, Dana Cobb, Bill Jolley (presented at 2021 Conference) 2019 Julie Clyce, Cathy Dyer, & Angie Dotson
2017 Bill Jolley, Angie Britt & Elaine Jackson 2016 Bill Jolley & Walter Fletcher
2015 Angie Dotson,  Elaine Jackson & Aaron Haynes 2014 Joellen Edwards, Bill Jolley,
Angie Dotson, Kathyrn Atwood & Jill Beason
2013 Bill Moats, J. Mark Wilson & Cindy Siler  2012 Deborah Murph & Myrtle Russell


Past award photos: